See the 2022 Women in Business Magazine

Six seek Kyle council office

By Andy Sevilla

Six Kyle residents have filed for two council seats up for grabs, including an incumbent, former candidates and political newcomers, according to the city’s election filings. 

At least one new face will join the seven-member city council, though terms for two public offices expire this May.

District 6 incumbent Tammy Lynn Swaton, 48, has filed for reelection to her single-member seat, and has found challengers in Daphne Sanchez Tenorio, 42, and Dexter LeShann Ellison, 28, both election newcomers.

Council member Samantha LeMense’s District 5 seat, which she announced in January she would not pursue for a second term, is being sought by two former council candidates who both lost their bids for office last year, and a political newcomer.

Laurie Luttrell, 54, who last year lost a bid to replace Chad Benninghoff, who resigned his District 3 seat due to relocation, will face off against Jaime Sanchez and political newcomer Damon Robert Fogley, 33.

Sanchez, a formidable opponent who has held public office in Kyle before, lost to incumbent Becky Selbera — in his bid to unseat her from her then-12 year tenure in the District 2 seat — by six votes last year. 

The District 5 and 6 Kyle council seats will be decided May 9. Early voting will run from April 27 through May 5.

About Author

Comments are closed.