Tenorio elected to District 6 seat, Fogley wins District 5 race


By Moses Leos III

Kyle voters have elected Damon Fogley and Daphne Tenorio to the Kyle City Council dais in Saturday's District 5 and District 6 runoff elections. 

In the race for District 6, Tenorio unseated incumbent Tammy Swaton by gaining 55 percent of the vote. Tenorio led Swaton 85-79 after early voting, and pulled away on Election Day by gaining 80 votes to Swaton's 56. 

"I'm absoultely thrilled," Tenorio said." I'm excited about giving my district a voice that it hasn't had and giving it the represenation that it deserves." 

The race for the District 5 seat was won by Fogley, who pulled out to a substantial 294-161 lead over Jaime Sanchez after unofficial early voting totals. Fogley and Sanchez each gained 148 votes on Election Day, but Fogley's lead was enough to catapult him to the win. 

All results remain unofficial until canvased by the Kyle City Council. 

Election results (Unofficial early voting, Election Day totals) 

District 5 

Damon Fogley – 442 (58.8%) 

Jaime Sanchez – 309 (41.1%)

District 6 

Daphne Tenorio – 165  (55%) 

Tammy Swaton – 135 (45%)



Comment on this Article

About Author


Comments are closed.