Disaster Registration Centers to close Saturday


Submitted report

Property owners, renters and business owners who suffered losses from the October floods and storms have until Saturday, December 12 at 5 p.m. to register in person for assistance at one of the four centers in Hays County. After Saturday, the centers will close permanently and applications will be taken online or by phone.

On Tuesday, December 15 at Noon, a Disaster Recovery Center will open at the Hays County Government Center, 712 S. Stagecoach Trail, San Marcos, to offer information about the variety of assistance available and answer questions. Specialists from FEMA and the SBA will be available.

The DRC will be open from Noon to 6 p.m. Tuesday, December 15; from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Wednesday, December 16 through Friday, December 18; from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, December 19 and from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday and Tuesday, December 21 and 22. The DRC will be closed December 23-27 for the Christmas holiday and officials will evaluate the need to reopen it after the break.

Survivors of the October 2015 floods and storms must register with FEMA to receive federal aid, even if they previously registered for aid due to the Memorial Weekend flood and storms. Disaster assistance received for the May event does not affect the possible eligibility for help due to the October event. Survivors should also register with FEMA even if they registered with another agency, as FEMA requires a separate application.

Register for assistance online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or call 800-621-3362 toll-free. Those with a speech or hearing disability who use TTY should call 800-462-7585 directly; those who use 711 or Video Relay Service should call 800-621-3362. All phones will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central time daily until further notice.

Assistance for survivors who qualify can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs. Low-interest loans from the SBA may also be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance. Those with losses should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA assistance cannot duplicate insurance reimbursement, but under-insured applicants could receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Disaster Registration Centers in Hays County 

All centers are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

San Marcos Activity Center 
501 Hopkins Street, San Marcos, TX 

Hays County Precinct 5 Office 
500 Jack C. Hays Trail, Buda, TX

Hays County Precinct 2 Office 
5458 FM 2770, Kyle, TX 

Wimberley Community Center
14068 Ranch Road 12, Wimberley, TX 


Comment on this Article

About Author


Comments are closed.