Cutler beats Ratliff for GOP Sheriff pick

By Moses Leos III

Hays County Sheriff incumbent Gary Cutler’s reelection bid moved forward Tuesday after he defeated challenger Tommy Ratliff for the Republican nomination.

Cutler bested Ratliff by gaining 62 percent of the vote on Super Tuesday.

With the nomination, Cutler moves on to face Democratic challenger Rodrigo Amaya in November’s General Election.

A switch of political parties didn’t keep longtime Precinct No. 2 Constable James Kohler from moving a step closer to reelection.

Kohler Tuesday defeated challengers Steve Avalos and Jimmy Zuehlke by claiming 51 percent of the vote to earn the Republican nomination for Pct. 2 Constable seat. 

Kohler, who switched from the Democratic to the Republican Party, moves on to square off against Democratic challenger Michael Torres in November’s General Election.

A changing of the guard will occur within Precinct 5 as incumbent Constable Matt Mancillas III won’t be part of a runoff election for the seat.

Challenger Mitch Johnson acquired 36 percent of the vote Tuesday, while challenger John Ellen claimed 34 percent. Mancillas finished with 29 percent.

Johnson and Ellen will square off in a runoff election to determine who wins the Pct. 5 Constable seat.


Unofficial election results

Republican primary

Hays County Sheriff
Gary Cutler – 10,862 votes (62.23%)
Tommy Ratliff – 6,594 votes (37.77%)

Hays County Pct. 2 Constable
James Kohler – 1,563 votes (50.75%)
Steve Avalos – 886 votes (28.77%)
Jimmy Zuehlke – 631 (20.49%)

Hays County Pct. 5 Constable
Mitch Johnson – 1,032 votes (36.31%)
John Ellen – 973 votes (34.24%)
Matt Mancillas III – 837 votes (29.45%)

County Chairman
Russell Hayter – 7,755 votes (54.52%)
Alice D. Chisholm – 6,469 votes (45.48%)

Hays County Pct. 3 Commissioner
Will Conley – 4,460 votes (82.35%)
Rob Roark – 956 votes (17.65%)


Democratic primaries:

Hays County Sheriff
Rodrigo Amaya – 10,966 votes (100%)

Hays County Pct. 2 Constable
Michael Torres – 2,169 votes (100%)

Hays County Pct. 1 Commissioner
Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe – 2,618 votes (100%)

Comment on this Article

About Author

Comments are closed.