Hays CISD Teachers of the Year honored

Staff Report


In its annual celebration of teaching excellence, the Education Foundation hosted the HCISD 2016 Teacher of the Year luncheon honoring teachers chosen from each campus and announced the top two honorees, Elementary Teacher of the Year Marta Sarkady and Secondary Teacher of the Year Laura Younts. Sarkady and Younts will go on to represent the district at the Regional Teacher of the Year competition.

The luncheon featured  Foundation Board member and event chair and Hays CISD native Dena Jansen, who spoke of her appreciation for the district’s importance in her life. She was followed by Hays High School Senior Faith Vasquez, soon to enter her freshman year at Yale University, who delivered a message on the importance of the positive influences she’s experienced at HCISD. A Speech and Debate standout, Vasquez reminded her audience that each of them would one day be part of the accomplishments to come from her generation in the future.

Secondary school Teachers of the Year include:

Jerry Camp (WMS)

Laura Younts (BMS)

Robert Vinyard (DMS)

Amanda Henke (SMS)

Jonathan Wilson (SMS)

Robert Mayer (Impact)

Claudia Vasquez (LHS)

Gina Lozano (HHS)

Gwen Crowe (LOA)


Elementary school Teachers of the Year include:

Sarah Hempel (FES)

Nancy Johnson (EGES)

Ashley Noto (BES)

Marta Sarkady (TGES)

Elizabeth Wilson (PES)

Karen Snyder (TES)

Tiffany Shim (SHES)

Karen Bumpous (CHES)

Celia Ledesma (CRES)

Michelle Zuniga (KES)

Marilyn Geyer (NES)

Kerissa Mitchell (BVES)

Kori Winchell (HES)

Comment on this Article

About Author


Comments are closed.