County Judge Becerra, commissioner Shell to represent county in area government council

After winning reelection, Hays County Pct. 3 Commissioner Lon Shell is expected to replace outgoing County Judge Bert Cobb as one of three representatives from the entity on the Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG).

Shell will be joined by newly elected County Judge Ruben Becerra, whose term starts Jan. 1, on the council. The pair will be seated with current CAPGOG member and Pct. 1 Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe. The three will be eligible to serve on CAPCOG’s board of directors, which is responsible for distributing funds and grants throughout the member counties.

The CAPCOG General Assembly, according to its website, is composed of the official representatives of all participating cities and counties as well as school districts, chambers of commerce and nonprofit agencies. The assembly will vote on whether to allow Shell or Becerra to be a part of CAPCOG’s executive committee.

“They do the vote before the end of the year, but I’m not exactly sure when,” Shell said. “One of us will serve on the board however, it doesn’t hold a lot of authority. It’s important to be involved, though.”

Whoever is on the executive committee alongside Ingalsbe will be a part of the 29-member committee that oversees program implementation, budgets, contracts and general policies and procedures for managing the agency, according to the website.

CAPCOG and its representatives make decisions regarding issues including air quality control, solid waste management and travel solutions involving roadway care in Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis and Williamson counties.

Comment on this Article

About Author

Comments are closed.