Four students named to All-State Band

Four Dripping Springs High School students have been named to the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) All-State Band for 2018-19. They are Johnny Dollard, trumpet (selected at 6A level), Erika Gossett, flute (selected at 6A level), Kearsen Erwin, oboe (selected at 5A level) and Jessica Heintz, clarinet (selected at 5A level)

This is the third consecutive year Dollard has earned all-state recognition, and the second year for Gossett and Heintz.

All-state honors are determined by the results at Area auditions, where individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument. Only the top 3 percent of musicians who initially audition become All-State musicians.

DSHS had 23 students audition at the TMEA Area Band auditions, a record number of DSHS Tiger Band students advancing to this level.

In addition to the all-state students, DSHS area qualifiers at the 6A level were: Sarah Cox (flute), Sarah Galassini (flute), Maddie Lee (flute), Kassandra Swain (bass clarinet), Cade Smith (horn), and Jason Oliphant (percussion). Other area quallifiers at the 5A level were:  Jonathan Bartling (horn), Danielle Cook (tenor sax), Celeste Douglas (horn), Samantha Foster (piccolo), Kasey Gusella (trumpet), Maddie Hassell (horn), Lettie Hastings (flute), Catherine Manning (flute), Paola Palomino (clarinet), Jasmine Rolon (clarinet), Matt Sheeler (bassoon), Isabella Stewart (English horn), and Connor Tole (tuba).

Comment on this Article

About Author


Comments are closed.