Four file for May HCISD trustee election

A pair of Hays CISD board of trustee incumbents will face opposition this May as they both vie for re-election.

All told, four people tossed their hats into the ring for a pair of trustee seats up for grabs May 4.

Incumbent Board President Merideth Keller will take on Mark Summers in the race for the Single-Member District 4 seat, which covers most of the Buda area.

Summers, an engineering professor at Texas State University who lives in the Leisurewoods subdivision, is making his first run at political office. Summers has lived in the Buda area for more than 25 years, according to his election filing. However, Summers tossed his hat into the ring just before the Feb. 15 deadline.

Summers will go up against Keller, a Driftwood-area property manager, who was first elected to the Hays CISD trustee dais in 2010. Keller has served on a variety of roles and was appointed as board president twice since 2017.

Meanwhile, a pair of educators will battle it out for the District 5 seat, which covers areas west of Interstate 35, including Plum Creek, Mountain City and the Driftwood area.

Incumbent Esperanza Orosco, a former Hays CISD educator who has served on the dais since 2016, will take on Frank Juarez, Jr in the District 5 race. Orosco, who lives in Plum Creek, was embroiled in controversy following a 2017 Austin American-Statesman report that cited the district’s investigation into allegations of intimidation and bullying at Hemphill Elementary.

Orosco will go up against Juarez, a Del Valle High educator, who has lived in Plum Creek for the past three-plus years.


Early voting locations for the May 4 General Election

Hays CISD Administration Bldg.
(21003 IH35, Kyle)
April 22 (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)
April 23-28 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)
April 29 (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)
April 30 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Buda Elementary School
(300 San Marcos Street, Buda)

April 22 (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)
April 23-26 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)
April 27 (10 a.m. to 2 p.m.)
April 28 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)
April 29 (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)
April 30 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) 

May 4 Election Day voting locations
(Polls open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.)

District 4
Hays Hills Baptist Church
1401 North FM 1626
Buda, Texas

District 5A and 5B
Wallace Middle School
1500 West Center Street
Kyle, Texas

Comment on this Article

About Author

News and Sports Editor

Comments are closed.