DSHS student newspaper recognized nationally

DSHS’s student newspaper “The Paw Print” won first place from the American Scholastic Press Association for the 2018-2019 school year, one of 13 schools across the country in its student population range. 

Rebranded this year as “The Paw Print”, the student newspaper was formerly called MyDSHSNews – which is now the umbrella name for all student media at DSHS, including the website www.mydshs.com and social media accounts. 

The name change was spearheaded by editors-in-chief Giselle Galletti and Camryn Horst. Also working on “The Paw Print” are Features Editor Katie Haberman; News & Entertainment Editor: Jade Berry; Opinion Editor: Tessa Stigler; Creative Editor: Jade Howe; Sports Editor: Rigley Willis; and Staff Writers: Hanna Gaither, Jami Holms, Samantha Moore, Evelyn Peterson, Cady Russell, Andrew Spiegel, Collin Spires, Madeline Tredway, and Mitchell Williams. Jessica Stamp is DSHS’s journalism and yearbook instructor.

DSHS students have been honored in the past by the American Scholastic Press Association, receiving “First Place with Special Merit” designation in 2016 for the student newspaper and the 2017 Tiger Cry yearbook, “One & Only,” earned a First Place award.

Comment on this Article

About Author

Comments are closed.