All Hays Free Press, News-Dispatch Baseball Team

All Hays Free Press, News-Dispatch Baseball Team

Player of the Year  Aidan Martinez, Hays

Up until he suffered an elbow injury in mid-April that kept him off the mound, Hays High’s Aidan Martinez was on pace for a breakout season. Compiling a 5-1 record and a bounty of strikeouts, Martinez, a University of Arkansas Pine Bluff pledge, was easily the go-to ace in a loaded Hays bullpen and was a legitimate threat for any and all opponents in the rough and tumble 25-6A. Even after being forced to shut down his arm midseason, Martinez didn’t let that prevent him from playing a key role, both on the field and in the dugout, in the Rebels’ return to the postseason. Martinez’ team-first mentality, combined with a stellar season at the plate, is why we at Barton Publications tab him to be our 2019 player of the year.

First team Infield Uli Tovar, Hays
Ryan Davenport, Dripping Springs
Zane Lilljidahl, Hays
RJ Cabela, Dripping Springs

John Murrillo, Lehman
Garrison Vaughn, Hays
Ty Kaatz, Dripping Springs

Nick Gullo, Dripping Springs

Lucas Abbott, Lehman

Second team Infield
Seth Stephenson, Hays
Brennan Frickel, Dripping Springs
Emory Saucedo, Lehman
Richard Herrera, Hays

Nate Tate, Hays
Parker Alford, Dripping Springs
Chase Ruston, Hays

Zach Tjelmeland, Dripping Springs

Matt Gustafson, Dripping Springs

Hays CISD selections to the 25-6A All-District Baseball Team

First team Hays
Aidan Martinez – Pitcher
Zane Lilljedahl – 3rd Base
Ulises Tovar – 1st Base
Seth Stephenson – Short Stop
Garrison Vaughn – Outfield

First team Lehman
John Murillo – Outfield
Lucas Abbott – Catcher

Second team Hays
Chase Ruston – Outfield
Jeremy Copeland – Pitcher

Second team Lehman
Shayne Miles – Pitcher
Albert Martinez – 3rd base

Honorable Mention Hays
Nathan Tate- Outfield
Tyler Cooper- Pitcher

Academic All-state:
Garrison Vaughn – 2nd Team
Dean Gallagher – 2nd Team
Andrew Guzman – Honorable Mention
Cameron Salinas – Honorable Mention

Academic all-district:
Garrison Vaughn
Seth Stephenson
Chase Ruston
Arnold Galindo
Andrew Guzman
Cameron Salinas
Tyler Cooper
Jacob Cerda
Matt Roiland
Taylor Monroe
Aidan Martinez
Curtis Hudgeons
Brycen Lee

Comment on this Article

About Author

Comments are closed.