Two Hays County incumbents toss hat in the ring for 2020 elections

While major county elections are still more than a year away, two incumbents are planning to toss their hats into the ring.

Hays County Pct. 1 Commissioner Debbie Ingalsbe and Hays County Sheriff Gary Cutler both announced recently they plan to seek reelection to their positions. So far, the duo are the only two to have preemptively announced their candidacy for county-level elections in the March 2020 primaries and possibly the Nov. 3, 2020 general election. 

The first day to file for candidacy in the March 3, 2020 primaries is Sept. 3. The deadline for candidate filings for the March primaries is Dec. 9.

Hays County will have ten seats up for grabs including Hays County Sheriff, Pct. 1 and Pct. 2 commissioner and all five constable positions.

Ingalsbe, who has served as Pct. 1 commissioner for more than two decades, said in a statement she looks forward to “continue our work, together, to make strong and positive impacts in Hays County.”

“As commissioner, I will continue to be a strong supporter of public safety, veteran and social services and will work hard to keep our taxes low, while providing the services our citizens expect,” Ingalsbe said.

Cutler, who is seeking his third term in office, said he will continue to address challenges presented by “unprecedented growth the county is experiencing.” In a statement, Cutler said the passage of the 2016 public safety bond has allowed the county to address infrastructure needs, as well as an expansion of the Hays County Jail.

“These accomplishments have been made by working closely with the commissioners court and other agencies to maintain a fiscally conservative approach and staying with our our approved budget each year,” Cutler said.



So which Hays County seats are up for grabs in November?
• Sheriff (Incumbent – Gary Cutler)

• Tax Assessor Collector (Incumbent – Jenifer O’Kane)

• Justice of the Peace Pct. 1.1 (Incumbent – Joanne Prado)

• Pct. 1 Commissioner (Incumbent – Debbie Ingalsbe)

• Pct. 3 Commissioner (Incumbent – Lon Shell)

• Pct. 1 Constable (Incumbent – David Peterson)

• Pct. 2 Constable (Incumbent– Michael Torres)

• Pct. 3 Constable (Incumbent–Ray Helm)

• Pct. 4 Constable (Incumbent– Ron Hood)

• Pct. 5 Constable (Incumbent–John Ellen)


Important dates for the 2020 calendar
Sept. 10 – first day for candidates to file for the March 3, 2020 primaries

Dec. 9 – Last day for candidates to file for the March primaries

Jan. 1, 2020 – First day to apply for ballot by mail

Feb. 3, 2020 – Last day to register to vote for the March primary

March 3, 2020  – Primary election

Oct. 5, 2020 – Last day to register to vote in the November 3 election

Oct. 19, 2020 – First day of early voting for Nov. 3

Oct. 30, 2020 – Last day of early voting for Nov. 3

Nov. 3, 2020 – General election

Comment on this Article

About Author

News and Sports Editor

Comments are closed.