See the 2022 Women in Business Magazine

October 7 is the last day to register to vote

Monday, Oct. 7 is the last day to register to vote in the Nov. 5 election, which is the first in the history of Hays County where voters may choose where they cast their ballots.

Voters may choose the most convenient of more than three dozen voting centers scattered across the county. The countywide voting system replaced one in which voters had to report to the precinct in which they live to cast their ballot on election day.

Decisions voters will be called on to make include 10 constitutional amendments addressing topics from flood mitigation to prohibiting the institution of a state income tax.

The ballot will also include local races:
• Buda: Voters will choose either Terry Cummings or Jeffery K. Morales for an at-large position on the city council
• Kyle: Voters will select between incumbent Dex Ellision and challenger Yvonne Flores-Cale to represent District 1 on the city council; and between incumbent Robert Rizo and challenger Amanda L. Stark to represent District 3
• San Marcos: Voters will choose either Maxfield Baker or Mark Gleason for City Council Place 1 and between incumbent Saul Gonzales and challengers Lisa Marie Coppoletta and Devin Barrett for Place 2
• Woodcreek: Gloria Whitehead is running uncontested for the position of mayor; voters will choose between Brent H. Pulley, Chrys Grummert and Charlie LeCompte for an at-large council seat
• Wimberley ISD: Voters will choose either Suzanne White or Will Conley for Place 4; Joe Malone is running unopposed for Place 5
• Some Hays County voters will also be asked to decide for or against the addition of jurisdictions to Emergency Services District 9. The ballot will read: “Adding the area within the city limits and extraterritorial jurisdiction of the cities of Mountain City, Mustang Ridge, and Creedmoor, and the extraterritorial jurisdiction of the cities of Uhland, Austin, and Dripping Springs, to the extent those areas are within Hays County and not already within the boundaries of Hays County ESD No. 9, Hays County ESD No. 2 and North Hays County ESD No. 1, to the Hays County ESD No. 9, and that area assuming its proportionate share of the outstanding debts and taxes of Hays County ESD No. 9, if the area is added to the District.”

Early voting for the Nov. 5 election starts on Monday, Oct. 21 and runs through Friday, Nov. 1. Voting centers will be open from 7 a.m. uni 7 p.m. on election day.

About Author

Comments are closed.