See the 2022 Women in Business Magazine

Elections Commission still filling up

More people have been appointed to the Hays County Elections Commission, but a few spots are still waiting to be filled.

The commission will not include any elected officials; however the county judge and each precinct commissioners were allowed to appoint two members. County Judge Ruben Becerra chose Linda Tenorio and Arthur Taylor; Pct. 1 Commissioner Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe named Roland Saucedo and Diane Herval; Pct. 2 Commissioner Mark Jones added Debbie Russ and Patrick Chisholm; Pct. 3 Commissioner Lon Shell nominated Carol Gaulter and Jon Leonard; and Pct. 4 Commissioner Walt Smith put forward the names of David Edwards and Kent Willis.

Still to be named are representatives of the county’s school districts (Hays, San Marcos, Wimberley and Dripping Springs), and the cities of Dripping Springs, Mountain City, Uhland, Niederwald and Woodcreek, along with the Democratic and Republican parties and the Texas State Democrats and Republicans.

The county’s Elections Administrator Jennifer Anderson will act as technical advisor to the group, which is tasked with evaluating the election process, designating Voting Centers (and recommend staffing for them) and other matters.

The group is expected to meet as soon as all members are named in order to discuss the Nov. 5, 2020 election. As envisioned, they would meet again after the elections in May 2020.

About Author

Comments are closed.