Seven appointed to Charter Review Commission

Staff report

No decision has been made on whether Kyle voters will be asked to approve amendments to the city charter on Nov. 3, but the city council did approve a seven-member Charter Review Commission at its May 19 meeting.

Louis Craig was nominated by Mayor Travis Mitchell; Brett Corwin by Mayor Pro Tem Rick Koch, Joe Ryan by Council member Dex Ellison, David Vail by Council member Tracy Scheel, Diane Hervol by Council member Robert Rizo, Mark Trahan by Council member Alex Villalobos and Sheila Henderson by Council member Michael Tobias.

The City Charter requires a commission by appointed every five years to go through the city’s founding document and suggest changes, which would then need voter approval. 

“I think we have a good group here,” Mayor Travis Mitchell said of the appointments. 

The group is tasked with making their recommendations to the council at their second scheduled meeting in July. August 19 is the deadline for the city to call a charter review election to be part of November’s General Election.

Comment on this Article

About Author

Comments are closed.