Flood group designates planning sponsor


Staff report

It’s been an open secret for decades, but the devastating floods of 2015 drove the point home — any meaningful flood resiliency can be achieved only with regional cooperation.

Steps are now being taken to make that a reality. The Region 11 Guadalupe Flood Planning Group, which had its inaugural meeting in November 2019, has designate th Guadalupe Blanco River Authority as its planning group sponsor.

The planning group was authorized by the 86th Texas Legislature in Senate Bill 8, which enabled the Texas Water Development Board to administer state and regional efforts. Region 11 is one of 15 planning groups designated by the TWDB and covers Kendall, Blanco, Comal, Hays, Guadalupe, Caldwell, Gonzales, DeWitt, Goliad, Victoria and Calhoun counties, as well as portions of Bandera, Gillespie, Travis, Bastrop, Fayette, and Lavaca counties.

Regional sponsors are charged with applying for and receiving financial assistance from the Texas Water Development Board (TWDB), entering into and managing a contract with TWDB, procuring and managing technical consultants, serving as an administrative agent in organizing meetings, posting public notices, and ensuring the delivery of the first regional flood plan.


Each self-governed regional flood planning group is responsible for identifying and assessing specific flood risks, as well as setting flood risk reduction goals, identifying and recommending flood management evaluations and strategies, and flood mitigation projects to reduce flood risk in their regions. Additionally, the groups will focus on reducing existing flood risks to life and property and on floodplain management.

The initial Region 11 Guadalupe Flood planning group has 12 voting members, including

• Chairman Doug Miller, representing agricultural interests

• John A. Johnston, P.E., representing counties

• Annalisa Peace, representing environmental interests

• Beth Parker, representing flood districts

• Kevin Stone, representing industries

Environmental Manager, Martin Marietta, San Antonio

  Joe Pantalion, P.E., representing municipalities

• Kimberly Meitzen, PhD, representing the public

• Brian Perkins, P.E., representing river authorities

  Gian Villarreal, P.E., representing small business

• Ronald (Ron) Fieseler, P.G., representing water districts

•  Joseph McDaniel representing water utilities

Field Supervisor, Aqua America, Kerrville


• President, Miller & Miller Insurance, New Braunfels

• Texas Licensed Professional Engineer and Nationally Certified Floodplain Manager, Victoria

• Executive Director, Greater Edwards Aquifer Alliance, San Antonio

• General Manager, DeWitt County Drainage District No. 1 and Certified Floodplain Manager, Cuero

• Environmental Manager, Martin Marietta, San Antonio

• Associate Professor, Texas State University Geography Department, San Marcos

•Water Resources Engineer, Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority, Seguin

• Owner, Seagull PME, New Braunfels

• General Manager, Blanco Pedernales Groundwater Conservation District, Johnson City

• Field Supervisor, Aqua America, Kerrville

The representative board position for power generation utilities is currently vacant. The Region 11 members meet monthly.

Comment on this Article

About Author

Comments are closed.