Two Dripping Springs HS band students advance to All-State

DRIPPING SPRINGS — Dripping Springs High School senior Drew Wilson, alto sax, and junior Hennah Hajari, bassoon, were selected for the 2021 Texas All-State Band, the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. Wilson has now earned all-state recognition for three consecutive years.

Drew Wilson. Photo courtesy of Dripping Springs ISD.

Hennah Hajari. Photo courtesy of Dripping Springs ISD.

Drew Wilson is the child of Dave Wilson and Merri Loftin. He also studies privately with Dr. Crystal Duckett. Hennah Hajari is the child of Daven and Priya Hajari. She also studies privately with Adam Drake.
Beginning each fall, more than 70,000 high school students across the state audition in their Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) Region. The highest-ranking musicians judged at the TMEA Area competitions qualify to perform in one of 18 Texas all-state ensembles sponsored by the Band, Orchestra, and Vocal Divisions. Only 1,800 musicians are selected in the band division.

Other Tiger Band students who competed at the TMEA Area E level include: Woodrow Mau (bass clarinet; 3rd chair of 4), Madelyn Foster (flute; 5th chair of 16), Matthew Sheeler (bassoon; 3rd chair of 6), Paola Juarez (clarinet; 9th chair of 24), Natalie Chavez (trumpet; 3rd chair of 20).

Comment on this Article

About Author

Megan Wehring graduated from Texas State University in May 2020 with a bachelor's degree in journalism and mass communication. Wehring is nearing one year at the Hays Free Press/News-Dispatch, covering all things local. This includes city council meetings, town events, education and human interest stories. Previously, Wehring worked at KTSW FM-89.9 (Texas State University's official radio station) for two consecutive years. She was a news reporter, assistant news director and monthly segment producer during her time at KTSW. Wehring is passionate about the local reporter aspect. With a heart for storytelling, she believes that journalists are equipped to share the stories that are most important to the community.

Comments are closed.