DSISD announces Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year For Dripping Springs ISD were announced last week.

The chosen are Laurie Burton (Dripping Springs Middle School, English Language Arts/English as a Second Language), Raquel Flores (Dripping Springs Elementary, bilingual first grade), Jennifer Franco (Walnut Springs Elementary, pre-K), Kristen Northrup (Rooster Springs Elementary, second grade), Tori Pattison (Sycamore Springs Elementary, first grade), Rebecca Smart (Sycamore Springs Middle School, eighth-grade Social Studies) and Micki Whitacre (Dripping Springs High School, Statistics/Algebra).

Campus winners were selected through a nomination and voting process of all staff at each school. The campus winners are now eligible for the DSISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year awards, which are chosen by a volunteer committee comprised of retired educators. The selection process is based on submitted essay responses and a virtual interview. The two winners will be announced at the May 24 Board of Trustees meeting, and will represent Dripping Springs ISD in the state Teacher of the Year contest.

Comment on this Article

About Author


Comments are closed.