What to know for voting in May 1 election

Staff Report 

HAYS COUNTY — Early voting started on Monday, April 19 and will continue through Tuesday, April 27. Below is a Hays County flyer of what you need to know to vote in the May 1 election.

Saturday is Election Day. Here are the local elections happening throughout Hays County.

Dripping Springs

The city of Dripping Springs is having an election for its City Council, Place 3 and Place 5 positions. Competing for Place 3 are Geoffrey Tahuahua and Charlie Busby. Competing for Place 5 are William Travis Crow and Sherrie Parks.
The Dripping Springs Independent School District is electing school board members. Candidates vying for a seat are Kay Kizziar, Lynn Henson, Stephanie Holtzendorf, Tricia Quintero, Shannon O’Connor, Stefani Reinold, Mary Jane Hetrick, Jeffrey Aylstock and Thaddeus Fortenberry. Top three vote-getters will take seats on the board.

City of Hays

Two candidates, Hanna Ballou and J. Terry Strawn, are competing for City of Hays City Council, Place 4.
City of Hays residents will be able to vote for Hays CISD At Large Trustee. They will choose between Donyé Curry, Will McManus and Bert Aguin for the position. Residents will also vote on the Hays CISD School Bond Propositions.

City of Uhland

Uhland residents will vote for their new mayor. Candidates are Victoria A. Hunter and Naomi Rae Schrock. Residents will also vote on the Hays CISD School Bond Propositions.

Hays CISD At Large

All residents living within the Hays CISD will be able to vote on the Hays CISD Bond Propositions and for one At Large spot on the Hays CISD board. Candidates are Donyé Curry, Will McManus and Bert Aguin.

Hays CISD District 3

District 3 residents, in addition to being able to vote for the Hays CISD Bond Propositions, will vote for Hays CISD Board Trustee for District 3 between Courtney Runkle and Richard W. Cronshey. Residents can also vote for one Hays CISD At Large position between Donyé Curry, Will McManus and Bert Aguin.

San Marcos CISD

San Marcos residents can vote on two At Large Board Trustee positions. Vying for a seat on the board are Andrew Fay, Mari Salmi, Anne Halsey, Nicholas “Nico” Costilla, Roger E. Davis and Sylvia DeLeon Muzzy.

Buda MUD 1

Residents living within the boundaries of what will be the planned development known as the Colony at Cole Springs will have the chance to vote on the establishment of a Buda MUD 1 and propositions related to the MUD. Residents will be able to vote on a MUD board. Candidates running for the five positions on the MUD board are Adrian Alvarado, Stephen Crawford, Lauren Crone, Ramunda Gallien and Nicholas P. Leschke. Voters in this area can also vote for the Hays CISD At Large position and the Hays CISD Bond Propositions.

North Hays County MUD 1

Residents of this MUD will be able to vote on board members, to fill three spots. Candidates are Kyle Puntry, Michael Chase, Scott Redding and Mark Piening.

Texas law now allows voters to vote at any open polling place within Hays County; voters are not required to vote within their precinct. To vote, residents must bring a photo ID.

210310 Hays Co EV and EDAY sites flyer

Comment on this Article

About Author

Megan Wehring graduated from Texas State University in May 2020 with a bachelor's degree in journalism and mass communication. Wehring has reported for the Hays Free Press/News-Dispatch for a year, covering all things local. This includes city council meetings, town events, education and human interest stories. Previously, Wehring worked at KTSW FM-89.9 (Texas State University's official radio station) for two consecutive years. She was a news reporter, assistant news director and monthly segment producer during her time at KTSW. Wehring is passionate about the local reporter aspect. With a heart for storytelling, she believes that journalists are equipped to share the stories that are most important to the community.

Comments are closed.