See the 2022 Women in Business Magazine

New leadership for Hays CISD

By Brittany Anderson

Following the May 7 election, the Hays CISD Board of Trustees ‘reorganized’ on May 16 in order to swear in new board members and select the president, vice president and secretary roles.  

Hays County Commissioner Mark Jones (Pct. 2) administered the ceremonial oaths to the three trustee-elects: Byron Severance, previously-appointed Dr. Esmeralda Pérez-González and incumbent Esperanza Orosco.

After longtime trustee Merideth Keller (Single-Member-District 4) chose not to seek re-election, Severance was elected in her place on May 7 after winning against candidate Amy Grant. He will serve on the board until 2025. 

Dr. Pérez-González (Single-Member-District 2) was appointed to serve on the board in December 2021, as the position was left vacant by Willie Tenorio Jr., and was elected to fill the remaining portion of the unexpired term through 2023. 

Orosco (Single-Member-District 5) was elected for her third term on the board after winning against candidate Bear Heiser, and later in the meeting was elected board secretary, as outgoing trustee Keller held the position. 

Additionally, Vanessa Petrea was re-elected to serve as board president for the second year in a row, and Raul Vela Jr. was re-elected to serve a second term as board vice president. 

About Author

Brittany Anderson graduated from Texas State University in August 2020 with a bachelor's degree in journalism. She previously worked at KTSW 89.9, Texas State University's radio station, for nearly two years in the web content department as a writer and assistant manager. She has reported for the Hays Free Press/News-Dispatch since July 2021.

Comments are closed.